Creative Brand Communications

Who Will Win Television Channel Of The Year?.

LONDON: April 30, 2009 – Voting for this year’s MediaGuardian Edinburgh International Television Festival’s Channel of the Year Awards opens on Friday, May 1, 2009 and closes at midnight on Friday, May 22.

For the first time, all non-terrestrial channels have been invited to enter for the Best Non-Terrestrial Channel of the Year Award. Nominations in this category include Sky 1, E4, BBC Three, FX, Comedy Central, Dave, Living, MTV One, Fiver, Wedding TV, Cbeebies and Sky News, among others.

michael-mcintyreThe non-terrestrial channels will be shortlisted and the winner of this category along with Best Terrestrial Channel Of The Year, Best Non-Terrestrial Programme Of The Year and Best Terrestrial Programme Of The Year will be jointly selected by the Festival’s Executive Committee and a live vote during the Channel of The Year Awards ceremony, hosted again by top comedian Michael McIntyre on Saturday, August 29.

Non-terrestrial channels have each entered two minute showreels for consideration, available to view on the Festival website ( Voters, made up of festival delegates, the industry and interested members of the public, can first view videos and then complete an online survey designed by YouGov. All voters are offered the chance of winning a delegate pass and accommodation for the Festival. To cast your vote go to

Now in its 8th consecutive year the Channel of the Year Award is in recognition of the increasingly competitive and often challenging market that today’s broadcasters operate in, and to celebrate the creative, innovative and commercial solutions that channels present. BBC Three won the Non-Terrestrial category in 2008 with ITV2 and BBC Four taking the honours in 2007 and 2006 respectively. The Terrestrial award was won by BBC One in both 2008 and 2007 and Channel 4 in 2006.

Note to Editors:

Registration for the 2009 MGEITF is now open. The early bird rate of £488.75 including VAT is currently available until May 29th. Click here for more information

A unique opportunity for individuals from across the media to share ideas, make new contacts and reconnect with friends and colleagues, the MediaGuardian Edinburgh International Television Festival offers delegates a varied programme of topical debates, one to one networking opportunities, masterclasses and keynote lectures from leading UK and international media figures. The Festival programme is developed by an Advisory Committee made up of individuals from across the industry.

The MediaGuardian Edinburgh International Television Festival is a delegate entry event which annually attracts over 2000 delegates from all sectors and levels of the industry. To find out more, and to register, please visit

MGEITF is a charitable organisation which supports and develops new talent from all backgrounds through its two talent schemes, The Network and Fast Track. Approximately one third of the delegate fees go towards supporting these initiatives.

Channel of the Year Awards contact: Kam Kandola: [email protected] /020 7843 0142

YouGov – What the world thinks

YouGov is a leading international research agency, with a specialist Media consulting division. YouGov’s full service offering spans added value consultancy, qualitative research, field and tab services, syndicated product offers and omnibus.

YouGov is the authoritative measure of public opinion and consumer behaviour. It is YouGov’s ambition is to supply a live stream of data and insight into what people are thinking and doing all over the world, all of the time, so that companies, governments and institutions can better serve the people that sustain them.

YouGov has been acclaimed as the most quoted research company in the UK and the country’s most accurate opinion pollster.
MGEITF Press Information:
Debra Johnson, Taylor Herring PR. Tel: 0208 206 5151
[email protected]





Latest Articles