Creative Brand Communications

National Television Awards – Let Battle Commence.

LONDON. Monday 7th September 2009. The long-list nominations for the biggest-ever National Television Awards (NTA) see some classic clashes in a magnificent new setting and with a brand new host.The awards, now in their 15th year and traditionally based at the Royal Albert Hall, will take place at London’s O2 arena in January and will be broadcast live on ITV1, with Dermot O’Leary taking over as host from Sir Trevor McDonald.

Produced by Indigo Television for ITV, the National Television Awards are the only TV awards entirely voted for by viewers, and as such are the most highly-coveted prizes in the TV world.

This year’s long-list includes a host of household names, new faces, and heavyweight clashes across all 11 categories. Here are just some of the key battlegrounds:

Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor go head-to-head once more in the fierce ongoing battle to be the UK’s most-loved Talent Show. Strictly just edged it last year, so will it be revenge this time around for Simon Cowell, who also has Britain’s Got Talent on the long-list?

Soap giants EastEnders and Coronation Street battle it out in the Serial Drama Category, with the ITV flagship hoping to finally bring its BBC rival’s four-year winning streak to an end.

Ant & Dec go for a record ninth win in the Entertainment Presenter Category, though strong competition is sure to come from last year’s Entertainment Programme winner Paul O’Grady and the awards show’s host himself, Dermot O’Leary. This category also throws up an intriguing contest between the former and current presenters of This Morning, Fern Britton and Holly Willoughby.

Fast-rising funnyman Michael McIntyre gets his first-ever NTA nomination, with his Comedy Roadshow slugging it out in the Comedy Programme Category alongside more established names such as Harry Hill’s TV Burp and Gavin And Stacey.

Piers Morgan, Phillip Schofield, and Martin Clunes each have three nominations apiece across three different categories, while two Hamlets will battle it out in the Drama Performance Category, as three-time winner David Tennant (Dr Who) takes on Kenneth Branagh (Wallander). Branagh’s brooding Scandinavian detective is just one of a host of small-screen policemen in the running here, with David Jason’s Frost and Martin Shaw’s George Gently among more than 20 officers on the long-list.

One final category to look out for is Star Travel Documentary, a new area dedicated to those well-known TV names who have travelled far and wide over the last 12 months. Among the nominees here are Joanna Lumley for In The Land of the Northern Lights, Billy Connolly for his Journey To The Edge Of The World, and the godfather of this particular genre, Michael Palin for his Around The World In 20 Years.

The show’s Executive Producer, Kim Turberville of Indigo Television, said that this year’s programme promises to be the biggest and best in the show’s 15-year history. “The move to the O2 means that even more viewers can be with us on the night,” says Turberville, “and their presence always makes for a truly electric and unforgettable atmosphere”.

NOTE TO EDITORS: viewers can vote online at or pick up a free vote form from any high street branch of WHSmith All votes must be in by 30th September 2009.

BE THERE IN PERSON: And to be sure of joining the stars in the 02 at the biggest NTA ever, simply go to or call Ticketmaster on 0844 847 2536.

For further information, contact Taylor Herring PR on 020 8206 5151.


Latest Articles