Creative Brand Communications


May 23, 2014

The Ivors 2014 Winners Announced.

LONDON, Friday 23rd May 2014


BASCA, in association with PRS for Music announce the winners of the 59th Ivor Novello Awards

Fourteen Ivor Novello Awards were presented at the ceremony, which took place on Thursday 22nd May at the Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London.


Presented since 1956, The Ivors celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing.  They are presented by BASCA [British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors] and are judged by the songwriting and composing community.  They have been sponsored by PRS for Music since 1974.

“BASCA is delighted that in their 59 th year The Ivors continue to recognise the best young and emerging talent that the UK has to offer whilst celebrating the enduring catalogues of some of our outstanding songwriters and composers.  I congratulate everyone who has received an Ivor Novello Award today.”
BASCA Chairman, Simon Darlow

Winners of the 59th Ivor Novello Awards

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
Let Her Go
Written by Mike Rosenberg
Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music Publishing

The Ivors Classical Music Award
John McCabe CBE

Best Television Soundtrack
Ripper Street
Composed by Dominik Scherrer
Published in the UK by Du Vinage Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Best Contemporary Song
Written by James Blake
Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing

International Achievement
Ed Dwane, Ben Lovett, Winston Marshall and Marcus Mumford [Mumford & Sons]

Best Original Film Score­­­­­­­­­­­­
The Epic of Everest
Composed by Simon Fisher Turner
Published in the UK by Mute Song

Album Award
Push the Sky Away
Written by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis
Published in the UK by Mute Song

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music
Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
Written by Dominic Major, Hannah Reid and Daniel Rothman
Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell Music

Songwriter of the Year
Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection
Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons [The Chemical Brothers]

Lifetime Achievement
Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award
Nile Rodgers

Press Contact: Taylor Herring


Latest Articles