Creative Brand Communications

Event PR: National Television Awards 2010.

LONDON, Tuesday 5th January 2010: The giants of the small screen are fighting it out for the ultimate prize – and who takes home an NTA trophy on the biggest TV night of the year is entirely down to YOU.

The final round of voting is now officially open for the biggest-ever National Television Awards (NTA), taking place on Wednesday, January 20 at London’s O2 Arena, hosted for the very first time by Dermot O’Leary, and broadcast live on ITV1 from 7.30 pm. And here are the key battles in which you can help choose the winners:

event PR

In the Talent Show category The X Factor takes on Strictly Come Dancing, Britain’s Got Talent, and Dancing On Ice. The X Factor will be looking for revenge after Strictly caused an upset last year by waltzing off with the trophy. But the Subo factor could give Simon Cowell a second chance of silverware with Britain’s Got Talent.

Fans of Ant and Dec have more than one chance to vote for their heroes, with the irrepressible Geordie duo up for no less than three awards, namely Ant And Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway and I’m A Celebrity . . . Get Me Out Of Here! in the Entertainment Programme and the boys themselves as Entertainment Presenters, where they are likely to face stiff competition from Paul O’Grady and first-time NTA shortlisters Holly Willoughby and Michael McIntyre.

awards PR

The three Davids – Jason (A Touch Of Frost), Tennant (Doctor Who), and Threlfall (Shameless) – gang up on the solitary Philip Glenister (for Ashes To Ashes) in Drama Performance, while The Apprentice squares up to Top Gear in yet another heavyweight clash, this time for Factual Programme.

Throw in Newcomer – where the EastEnders v Coronation Street battle is fought out by Ryan Malloy (Neil McDermott) and Graeme Proctor (Craig Gazey) – and the brand new Star Travel Documentary category that sees Joanna Lumley (In The Land Of The Northern Lights) take on Stephen Fry (In America) in a National Treasure face-off, and it’s clear that the only place to be on January 20 is in the best ringside seat in the house, watching live on ITV1 at 7.30pm.

The spectacular NTA set features thousands crystals by Swarovski – prepare to be dazzled!

How to vote here . . .

Simply go to to vote for your favourites, or call the special NTA voteline on 0901 888 2009. Calls cost 25p per minute from BT landlines plus a 9p connection charge, while calls from other networks may be higher and calls from mobiles will cost considerably more.*

One lucky member of the audience will become a star for the night! During the ceremony Dermot will be inviting a member of the public up from the audience onto the stage to present a major award. So make sure you are dressed to the nines so that you’ll sparkle in the spotlight.

Vote now, and don’t forget to tune in to ITV1 from 7.30 pm on Wednesday January 20th when new host Dermot O’ Leary helms a spectacular star-studded ceremony to reveal the winners as voted for by YOU!

*Calls should last no longer than 6 minutes and you need to call from a touchtone phone to register your votes. Voting opens at 00.01 on January 5th and closes at midday on 20th January. Multiple vote restrictions apply see Terms and Conditions at

For further information, contact Taylor Herring PR on 0208 206 5151


Latest Articles